Silent Spring

April 27, 2009 at 9:12 pm 3 comments

I’ve just started reading Silent Spring, by Rachel Carson, which is one of those seminal books I can’t quite believe I haven’t read yet. I feel I’m going to enjoy it. My sleep cycle is too messed up to permit any sensible comment on it, but I was struck by this sentence (p28 of the Penguin Classics edition):

Have we fallen into a mesmerized state that makes us accept as inevitable that which is inferior or detrimental, as though having lost the will or the vision to demand that which is good?

Discuss.

Entry filed under: books, conservation, wildlife. Tags: , , .

Slightly red-faced (and sore-backed) Food in the news – 27th April – 1st May

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Compostwoman  |  April 27, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Well anyone who visits here , or similar…isn’t going to be mesmerised into inevitability!

    I read it when I was 14..( wow, 33 years ago tomorrow!)

    and it had a HUGE impact on me and my life..I can honestly say I am, what I am, because of this book…

    make of that what you will!

    Reply
  • 2. sproutingbroccoli  |  April 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    That’s encouraging to hear!

    Reply
  • 3. GTM  |  May 10, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Hullo there :o)
    I havent read this book! eeek!will order from the lbrary lorry next week.
    I STRONGLY! believe that there are huge swathes of people out there who are simply clueless on what quality really is & accept either Louder,Bigger,Shiny~er(is that a word lol)Faster,Newer,etc etc as better? & it makes me so cross & so worried & then equally so determined to have nothing to do with it all sigh.

    Faced with some aberation passing as *food* such as Kentucky or McDonalds they pile their plates sky high yet would poo pah simple boiled egg & toast from home hens & home made bread.

    Such dimwits :o(
    GTM x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

