Long weekend

April 15, 2009 at 10:09 am 2 comments

The long Easter weekend got off to an unpromising start – when I finished work on Thursday evening, there was nothing in the house to mix with gin except flat Lilt from our cocktail party a month ago.

It got better. On Friday, I woke up with a huge surge of enthusiasm for doing all the things I normally don’t have the time or energy to do and spent the day finishing the i-cord on my cardigan and sewing the jacket I’ve been working on for a year.

s60017362s60017381

s60017392

Then on Saturday I woke up and felt absolutely exhausted, thanks to a busy previous couple of weeks, and spent most of the day lounging around not doing very much. Well, I made some bread and went shopping, but that was about it.

On Sunday, we went to see Scientist Fiancé’s family and ate too much roast dinner and played silly games. And Monday was gorgeous and I spent most of the day in the garden. I had breakfast outside and then did some ms6001735uch overdue weeding, as a result of which you can now see the gravel. I also rescued the peas, which have been in need of potting on some days now, and planted squash and more peas and lots of basil. And probably some other things. Also, my coriander is still looking reasonably healthy, which is good news as I have a terrible track record with coriander.

And here are some pretty Easter flowers:

s6001740

I hope you all had lovely weekends.

Entry filed under: knitting, sewing machine, victory garden. Tags: , , .

Apology Slightly red-faced (and sore-backed)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Goo  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Ha! I’m pretty rubbish at growing coriander too. My Brazillian sister-in-law, who can’t live without it, just stuffs her pots full of seeds, she doesn’t bother to thin them, she treats it a bit like growing cress. She gets huge crops, but she’s harvesting before they go leggy or bolt. Requires a lot of successional sowings but this is how I’m going to try it this year.

    Reply
  • 2. sproutingbroccoli  |  April 26, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Ooh, that’s a good idea. I might try that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

