Archive for January 6, 2009

Thought…

I was thinking, as my header was making my shivering body crave the warm flavours of summer, that with a name like ‘Eating the Seasons’ I should really have a foodstuff appropriate to the time of year at the top of my blog.

*ponders*

January 6, 2009 at 10:32 pm 2 comments

Christmas in more detail

A few days of housework and wage-slavery have brought me back down from the rather emotionally-charged Christmas period. Thieving scumbags took Scientist Boyfriend’s family jewellery, which is horrid, but everything else was just stuff which can be replaced (or which we can do without), and it’s more the thought of big stompy burglar men leaving mud all over our carpets and rifling through my underwear drawer that upsets me. The forensic people came round, but there wasn’t anything they could get prints off, but they’re hoping to get more next door as they had to break a window to get in there. *fumes*

Other than that, though, Christmas was lovely, despite fearing permanent damage to my stomach lining from the enormous quantities of sparkling wine consumed. We were up with my parents in Northumberland for most of the time, eating vast amounts of yummy things, sandwiched between a couple of days with Scientist Boyfriend’s family, eating vast amounts of yummy things, and my Granny’s 80th birthday, where yet more yummy things were consumed in excess. (I have since been rather enthusiastic about brown rice and fresh vegetables. It’s all about balance, I suppose.) Despite a small accident with the marzipan (always read the recipe, don’t just guess!) my cakes were very successful, if rustic-looking, and much appreciated by my dad’s shooting buddies. (Scientist Boyfriend has been telling everyone since we got home about the two exciting things that happened to him over Christmas: ‘Well, Hamster and I got engaged….. AND, I shot a pheasant!!!’) I am now the proud owner of many decadent foodie things, a veritable cornucopia of fancy teas and an ergonomic hoe. Hoe hoe hoe.

I knitted the dalek. He was finished at 3 a.m. in the morning the day before midnight mass (‘Oh, just one more round, then I’ll go to sleep. Ooh, only 10 more to go now…’) I am rather proud of him, if I say so myself.

Knitted dalek

Knitted dalek

And now we have to plan a wedding. But we have until April or June 2010, and I’m determined not to become one of those neurotic women who gets slightly loopy and self-absorbed over it all. We’ve picked an area of the country, and will do exact date and venue once I’ve heard if I’ve got onto this course, and then I am not going to stress. I still have this crazy idea I can make my own dress, although I presume at some point in the next 18 months my mother will force me to see reason, as I haven’t even succeeded in making those sodding curtains without falling out with my sewing machine. Quite why I think I’ll be able to turn delicate fabrics into something that will be extensively photographed is a mystery to me as well. If I could knit it, I’d probably be all right but… well, I’m really rather conventional in terms of taste, if not of politics. Ah well, I suppose I’ll come into my own when all my friends start having babies….

Ooh, and I’m going to see Vandana Shiva on the 27th!! Yay!!

January 6, 2009 at 10:24 pm 6 comments


January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."