Hello

July 26, 2008 at 7:56 am 3 comments

I’m still here, but have been more than usually engaged in real life – have been doing lots of interesting things at work rather than just writing up meetings and seeing lots of uni and gap year friends, and the weather’s been lovely and amongst all that I haven’t really felt like paying too much attention to the internet, nice as it is.

I’ve been rather neglectful of my garden, however, and am now worried my potatoes have blight but I think this is unlikely to be a direct consequence of anything I have done or not done and more likely because the weather was rather damp for quite a while. We have acquired a table on which we can eat outside and most time spent in the garden is now spent drinking sauvignon blanc and eating dinner rather than digging. I’ve also managed to write, ooh, a whole page of my novel. This is progress, but only compared to what I’ve achieved in the last year.

I’ve eaten some peas and they were yummy and some new potatoes (lifted the whole crop today and they were all fine) which were quite possibly the nicest potatoes I’ve ever eaten. Two of my blueberries appear to be ripening and my bean plants are covered with mini-beans. They’re also being rather aggressive towards the peas, taking over all their stakes, as well as sending off shoots to climb the potatoes or the honeysuckle hanging over the fence from next door, and one enterprising shoot sent itself two feet into the air and, finding nothing to climb, is now climbing straight down the cane again. I’m beginning to see why the story was called ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ rather than ‘Jack and the Tomatillo’ or ‘Jack and the Pak Choi’.
I started knititng the second sock but had to unravel it and start again as it all fell off the needles and I got confused. I’ve managed to do quite a lot this week. There was an article in the Guardian about the type of people who were going to be least affected by rising inflation, and it was basically anti-social knitters who walk everywhere, but really prefer to stay at home, drink vodka and have sex rather than fly on holiday and go to the cinema.

So, that’s what I’m doing this winter then!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Oooooh! Rent a cherry tree

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosie  |  July 26, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Glad to see you back online – it’s always a bit worrying when some-one disappears for a while.

    Reply
  • 2. Compostwoman  |  August 14, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Sounds like a GOOD plan for spending a winter…..;-))

    glad you are OK..was a bit worried when you didn’t appear on here…and you were not on INEBG…and as I have been banned from CL ( just don’t ask..I somehow managed to offend the “owner” and was summarily evicted on a first non offence, with no appeal apparently! despite the fellow arguee NOT gettting the same treatment….:-O …)
    so…I can’t check if you are ok via there!

    ANYWAY
    good you are *just* busy ;-))

    Reply
  • 3. colouritgreen  |  August 19, 2008 at 10:52 am

    ooo good winter plan. !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

