You win some, you lose some…

May 8, 2008 at 3:51 pm 1 comment

Ta-da!!!!

I am proud to report that after MONTHS of trying and ending up with everything from slightly warm milk with a tablespoon of yoghurt whisked through it to a globby ricotta-type mixture that was okay on pasta, I have finally managed to make yoghurt and end up with something resembling yoghurt. Looks like yoghurt, tastes like yoghurt, smells like yoghurt.

I have exorcised my yoghurt demons.

And the initial capital expenditure (item: Thermos flask; quantity: one) should have been recouped by November! (Though that’s not counting the additional benefits of owning a Thermos flask. Money saved by making yoghurt: 35p/week. Having proper loose leaf tea on the 7.56 to London Waterloo: priceless.)

I very nearly danced around the kitchen when I realised it had worked. I am not a total abject failure when it comes to yoghurt. =D

However, my Grant loaves were an abject failure. I was getting all lyrical, thinking of the wartime women working 12 hour factory shifts and bringing up children alone rejoicing over this bread recipe that took about 10 minutes to prepare, and I forgot to keep an eye on the kettle and the water got too hot and then it killed the yeast. I tried to repair the damage, but despite a token rise overnight, they then cooked too quickly and I basically have flat bricks of bread.

Ah well. You win some, you lose some….

Entry filed under: baking, yoghurt.

I knit… I garden… That’s about it…. Such a waste

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. badhuman  |  May 10, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Congrats on the yogurt. My fiance and I don’t eat so we haven’t tried our hand at it. This week though we are going to try to make our own mozzarella. We are keeping our fingers crossed that it works 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

