My weekend and a wee quiz thingy

April 14, 2008 at 3:36 pm 5 comments

Another long break between updates, apologies folks. Wrist been hurting again and don’t want to totally knacker it and end up not being able to work, knit or stir cake mix, so have reluctantly had to cut back on blog and forum activity.

Busy weekend, what with the gardening course and the Creative Living meet; both were lots of fun and I’ve met lots of very interesting people. I wish I could show you some pictures of the garden I was at on Saturday: in the middle of suburbia there’s an oasis of biodiversity. She had a little area outside the house with a small lawn with an apple tree on it and a pond, which would be a lovely place to sit with a drink in the summer, chickens at the bottom of the garden, a veg plot with raised beds and even a polytunnel tucked around the corner! And flowers all over for bees, butterflies and general aesthetic appeal. It was amazing – so immensely productive, but not self-consciously utilitarian.

The CL meet was also good fun. Lots of good food and good conversation, I had my knitting rescued when I dropped stitches, I acquired a bar of soap, various other people who didn’t have to take trains home acquired various other beautiful things and I drank rather a lot of damson vodka, forgetting I’m only 5’2.

Got home to find that Scientist Boyfriend had marinaded some chicken legs in mixed herbs, including lavender, and put self-raising flour in my sourdough. Chicken was rather pleasant (it’s very trendy, at the moment, eating flowers) but the sourdough is looking distinctly sorry for itself and splodgy. Better than last time I went away, though, when he killed all of my plants.

Soooo tempted by all the herbs on the Tamar Organics website atm, but I don’t really want to buy lots of packets of seeds when I’ll only use a handful to grow one perennial plant. Hmm. *ponders* Maybe someone on a forum will go halves with me.

————–

From Lucy over at The Smallest Smallholding:

What Was I Doing 10 Years Ago?

I was in my 3rd year at secondary school, probably choosing my GCSEs. I think I’d just discovered my passion for languages and cherry tomatoes after an exchange to France during the Easter holidays.

My To Do List for Today/Diary of What I Actually Did

Very little of interest. Caught up on various blogs and forums after a weekend away, proof-read something for work and trawled through some other documents to dig out technical terms for a glossary.

The bf and I are going to roast a chicken for supper, have it with salad and roast potatoes.

Snacks I Enjoy

Ooh, I love little dips and things. Hummus and tapenade especially. Also love olives and dried mango. And M&S chocolate buttons – they’re yummy!

Things I Would Do If I Were A Billionaire

Quit my job and buy loads of books and yarn!!

Hmm, thinking about this seriously, it would be my opportunity to really invest in the things that could see us through the transition to a post-oil/low-carbon economy, and by ‘us’ I mean both my immediate family and my community.

Somewhat selfishly, I think the first thing would be to buy a smallholding somewhere, or at least a house with a big garden and scope for pigs nearby. We’d get a woodburner/aga and some hens and plant an orchard.

I’d use the rest to either make donations to worthy causes or set up a worthy project and start an apocalypse-resistant business of some kind. Either something foody, planty or textiley, or buy loads of land and rent it out for allotments/start a community orcahrd. Or all of the above, I suppose – as I said, it’s a lot of money. I haven’t really figured out the details yet, but I would want to donate to or start some kind of environmental/sustainable project, preferably funding an economically self-sustaining one through start-up rather than just giving out a load of handouts.

Three of My Bad Habits

I moan and rant about things without actually doing what I can to make them better.
I don’t really take responsibility for money and finance and stuff and I let the bf do all that.
I often start drinking and then forget I’m only 5’2.

Five Places I Have Lived

Born in Solihull, then lived at the bottom of a valley in Northumberland for a long time. I moaned at the time, because all my friends lived miles away in town, but I yearn for it now. I was at uni in Oxford and loved all the libraries and the covered market. In Wokingham now. I’ve not really lived anywhere else for a long period of time, but I have spent stretches of a few months in Paris (as an au pair), Eldoret in Kenya (as a primary school teacher) and in Lome in Togo working for a women’s organisation.

Five Jobs I Have Had

I was in charge of ordering jam, displaying cakes and sorting through vegetables to take out the squishy ones at a farm shop in Northumberland. I also had to price kippers, which is probably partly why I haven’t eaten fish for the last five years.
I spent a summer trying to find ways of engaging teenagers in learning English. I showed them Garden State and tried to explain what cricket was and created elaborate lesson plans around Motown and Coldplay.
I worked in my college library taking every single book off the shelves, scanning its barcode and possibly moving it.
I worked as a support worker in a variety of homes and day centres for adults with learning difficulties. Shockingly undervalued and underpaid work, and I’m sorry to say that drove me out of it once I realised speech therapy was an unlikely long-term prospect.
I now give myself RSI typing up corporate jargon into reports, minutes or transcripts. I occasionally get to make the kind of interesting, challenging decisions language professionals have to make, but often it’s just correcting CEOs’ terrible grammar and cutting out the word ‘actually’, which is vastly overused.

Five People Who Write Interesting Blogs That I’d Like to Tag

Hmm, there are lots of people with interesting blogs. I can’t choose any in particular to tag, but I shall use this and the award GTM nominated me for last week as an incentive to instead contact some of the people whose blogs I read but who aren’t on my blogroll and ask if I can link to them too. So no specific tags, but I will enter into the spirit of it by drawing attention to other blogs I like!

Entry filed under: ramble, victory garden.

Erm… Hair update

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lucy @ Smallest Smallholding  |  April 14, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Oooo which Oxford college were you at? I went for an interview at Brasenose to read English, but didn’t make it. They offered me an interview at Lincoln college but I didn’t go for it. I sometimes wonder what difference it would have made, given that I postponed uni until I was 21 and went to a completely shit local one.

    Reply
  • 2. Hamster  |  April 15, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I was at Queen’s (next to the bus stop on the High St, big clock).

    I’ve applied to join your forum, btw.

    Reply
  • 3. Emma  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    if you wish to link me i would be very happy. and i would gladly link you if you don’t mind. how was the lavender chicken? calming? 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Hamster  |  April 16, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Yes, I was just about to ask you Emma! I will put up a link then, thanks. And you are welcome to link to me.

    Lavender chicken was quite pleasant actually. Didn’t really taste of lavender, though, just mixed-herb-y!

    Reply
  • 5. emma  |  April 16, 2008 at 8:21 am

    actually i have an interesting looking recipe for lavender pasta knocking around somewhere, you have inspired me to try it. i’ll let u know how it goes. and i’ll link you this evening when i remember how to work my blogroll!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

