Hair update

April 14, 2008 at 8:47 pm 5 comments

Well, for those of you who don’t frequent the SSish forum, the day I started using my new, solid, handmade, polar bear-saving shampoo bar, I also conditioned my hair with avocado oil, which turned out to be something of a disaster.

I clearly used far too much, though it didn’t look like much, combed it through my damp hair and waited for it to dry. About four hours later it still hadn’t, and I was supposed to be going to London that evening to go out to dinner in some swanky restaurant with Scientist Boyfriend’s swanky friends who work in the City or are studying Art History and my hair looked like it would actually drip off my head… Ew, ew, ew. Now, I’m not generally ashamed of my eco-warrior ways, but there are certain times when, and I mean this in the nicest possible way, you really don’t want to go out looking like a greasy hippy.

I panicked. I went and rinsed it at least three more times, with increasing thoroughness, thereby totally negating any environmental benefit of me not using my old shampoo, still to no avail, and after a slightly edgy post on SSish managed to get it a bit more presentable through the judicious application of large quantities of vinegar (is there anything vinegar can’t do??).

Anyhow, I gave up on the avocado oil, but kept on using the shampoo and my hair carried on being greasy and disgusting, and yet also dry and flyaway at the same time. Weirdness. Then last week I cracked and used my old shampoo cos I was so fed up of it, and it went back to feeling nice and manageable again, but this morning I used the solid shampoo and my hair is still nice and manageable. Now I’m wondering if it just took a LONG time and a lot of nasty shampoo to get the avocado oil out, and the solid shampoo will be fine from here on out, or if once the nasty shampoo wears off it’ll be back to greasy and weird….

Entry filed under: toiletries.

My weekend and a wee quiz thingy A whole village that grows its own food!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Greentwinsmummy  |  April 16, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Hamster I use hemp oil all the time on my barnet :o) but hve never left it in,which it sounds like you did,unless I hve read it wrong doh!
    apply oil to dry hair & leave as long as possible & then with shampoo & I would use a liquid one as dont think a bar will have enough ooomph,lather alot of shampoo over oil,this breaks it down,I use Faith in Nature seaweed,sometimes their rosemary one,once its all foamed up then & onyl then apply water to wash out.
    Hope that helps
    GTM

    Reply
  • 2. Pattie  |  April 17, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    When I was 7 months pregnant with my second daughter, my then almost-five-year-old got lice at preschool and I told her to spread Vaseline all ove rmy hair before I did it to heres. She went crazy doing it and I swear it took me until the new baby was a month old before I got all that Vaseline out and my hair didn’t look slick, slick, slick all the time! I kept telling myself I looked sleek and cool but I knew the truth.

    Reply
  • 3. Hamster  |  April 19, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    GTM – thanks for the tip. I put it on wet hair and left it in for a few hours then tried to wash it out. If I am ever feeling brave enough to try it again, I’ll follow your advice, thanks.

    Pattie – Vaseline?!
    Three months of it, poor you…

    Reply
  • 4. Greentwinsmummy  |  April 19, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    ooonooooooooo!! no wonder it was a nightmare!!! oil on dry hair,bone dry hair,let it soak in,rub shampoo into oily dry hair to break down the oil,add enough shampoo until you get a latherish sort of lather lol! & only then!! turn on the water :o) try it again like this & you will be hooked,I swear by hemp oil,olive oil is good too,I get a dry scalp sometimes & it sorts it out so quickly,adding essential oils such as lavender & rosemary makes it blissfull too!
    x x x

    Reply
  • 5. Hamster  |  April 29, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Ahhhhh. Bone dry hair. Gotcha! When I dare to try it again, I’ll do that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

