January 23, 2008 at 8:20 pm 2 comments

Well, the errant beetroot never turned up. Curious.

I have found another wintry vegetarian recipe, veggie chilli with cornbread topping. Unfortunately my cornbread topping sank when I spooned it on as the chilli was too liquid!! Aargh! Anyway, I shall pray it’s still edible and post the recipe when I have passed judgement.

Had a busy weekend with friends from uni visitint. It was so nice to see everyone again, and made me a bit sad that I haven’t really met anyone round here that I get on with. Still, am meeting up with someone from SSish and joining a knitting group. One day….

My dressmaking skills were praised very highly at my class last night. I now have all of the skirt cut out and will actually be let loose on a sewing machine next week! One of my friends very kindly threaded mine on Friday, but I still can’t get the bobbin thread to work. Grrrrr! How can this be so complicated?! Luckily, I’ve found a book in the library with really clear pictures.

Should also be getting some work at the end of this week, which means I might have some money to buy seeds with soon. Hurrah!

Hmm, am wittering on a bit here. Just wanted to let you know I was still alive. Best go check dinner hasn’t met with any more disasters in my absence!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh beetroot, where art thou? (a.k.a. veg box vegetable of the week) A suburban field guide to the identification of packaging

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mara  |  January 25, 2008 at 10:31 am

    I learnt to sew at school and it’s quite amazing…no matter how long a period of time there is since I last used a machine my fingers automatically thread it up. Once you get the hang of it you’ll be fine!

    Reply
  • 2. Hamster  |  January 25, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Bah, why did my school fail to teach me anything useful like that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

