Oh beetroot, where art thou? (a.k.a. veg box vegetable of the week)

January 17, 2008 at 10:24 pm 1 comment

Somewhere in my kitchen lurks a beetroot.

Of that I am quite convinced.

I know five came in the veg box last week, and I cooked four on Tuesday, and I can’t for the life of me find the other one.

Alongside my ambitious New Year’s Non-Resolutions and my commitment to give 10p to the RSPB for every plastic carrier bag I am unable or too embarrassed to refuse (although I haven’t inadvertently acquired a single one yet!), this year I am also trying desperately to find exciting ways to cook the contents of the veg box, that doesn’t just involve: stir-fried greens, sauteed greens, roasted root veg, boiled ‘n mashed root veg… In my defence, it is January…

I am gradually trying to convince my bf that eating less quantity and better quality with regard to meat (well, with regard to everything really, but I’m quite happy if he stuffs himself with chard, cos it’s cheap), which he is quite happy to go along with, as he agrees in principle, and sees the financial benefits. Unfortunately, while for me it is something akin to a guiding philosophy, I think he sees it as something that is fine while we are young and skint, and every time I place a chickpea casserole or a bean risotto down in front of him, there is a certain tangible disappointment to his demeanour, a slight sense that British masculinity has been affronted in some way…

(And the Waitrose magazine which included a section called ‘The Winter Vegetarian’ was full of recipes involving peppers, fresh tomatoes and aubergines. In a magazine called ‘Seasons’, I ask you…)

So this week I have made:

Cauliflower, lemon and tahini salad,
Bubble and squeak rosti

and a roasted carrot and beetroot salad of my own invention.

I made it with couscous, but it would have been better with bulgar wheat.

You will need:

1 large carrot, chopped into large slices (approx
4 small beetroot
enough bulgar wheat or couscous for 2 people
juice of 1 lime
1 onion
2 cloves garlic
1 large chilli
olive oil
fresh oregano
small amount of goat’s cheese (optional)

Basically:

Roast the veg (beetroot wrapped in foil for approx 40 mins, carrot tossed in oil for approx 30).

Meanwhile cook the bulgar wheat and lightly fry the onion, garlic and chilli.

Peel the beetroot, while wearing gloves or you’ll end up with a lovely natural purple nail polish, and chop it into similar sized chunks as the carrot.

Pop everything in a bowl, add the lime juice and enough olive oil to make it…. look like a dressed salad (I’m never going to cut it as a celebrity chef). Stir through the oregano just before you eat it.

All the above were met with resounding approval.

This week we will be getting: potatoes, carrots, onions, broccoli, a bag of brussells tops, a cauliflower, a head of celery and a mystery vegetable that will take the place of the turnips we vetoed.

So, if anyone has any exciting veggie recipes that don’t involve roasting, boiling and/or mashing the carrots and potatoes and stir-frying/sauteeing the brussels tops and broccoli and uses the cauliflower in a way that doesn’t involve boiling it to death or smothering it in cheese, please feel free to suggest them.

Also, if anybody sees a rogue beetroot, please send it back to my kitchen pronto. I want to roast it!

I am most perplexed.

Entry filed under: cookery, food, veg box, vegetable of the week.

Second dressmaking class!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. emma  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    if you go on http://www.abelandcole.co.uk they have a recipes section where you can pick the vegetable and it gives you recipes for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

