Gratuitous garden photos

September 30, 2007 at 4:44 pm 2 comments

Argh, have just spent ages faffing about with photos, unsuccessfully, and fully expect to publish this and find about 10 posts, all with pictures of strawberry plants and my jungly garden… which would not be good.

Anyway, here is my measly haul of blackberries from yesterday, which I now can’t make into jam, as I couldn’t get any wax discs or a funnel. (Could probably live without the funnel, wax discs rather more necessary for mould-prevention purposes.) I did contemplate just melting some wax on top from a candle, an idea which Scientist Boyfriend didn’t dismiss as ridiculous, but then I remembered that all my candles are scented, which kind of put the kibosh on that plan!

These are my strawberry plants, which I have refrained from naming. All happily in their pot, but now I look at them in the harsh light of a photo, I realise that one has slightly more room than the others. Oops.

Lastly, here are some photos of my jungly garden, which I include to shame me into doing something about it, especially as you can see over the fence and get an idea of how lovely next door’s garden is!

I did spend ages pulling up all the weeds from the gravel alongside the path, the whole time thinking: “No! Don’t go there, Hannah! You’re condemning yourself to a lifetime of grubby fingernails, bad backs, holes in the knees of all your trousers and getting twitchy at barbecues cos you want to deadhead your host’s roses. Is this the future you envisaged for yourself? No? There’s still time, if you want to escape… You can just… walk… away…”

Needless to say, I stuck at the weeds. Now I need to clear the only useable bed so I can put something useful in it next spring, and, erm, find the rockery….


Entry filed under: garden, jam.

Of soft fruit and eggs Grrrr!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mrsnesbitt  |  October 4, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I spotted more brambles when out walking the dog yesterday…a couple more days and they will be ready!

    Reply
  • 2. Hamster  |  October 5, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    It looked like most of the ones near me had been and gone. =( You’ve encouraged me though – I might go back for another look this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent ramblings

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
The Heritage Crafts Network

Rob Hopkins, Transition Handbook

“Environmentalists have often been guilty of presenting people with a mental image of the world’s least desirable holiday destination – some seedy bed and breakfast near Torquay, with nylon sheets, cold tea and soggy toast – and expecting them to get excited about the prospect of NOT going there. The logic and the psychology are all wrong.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

"Food is that rare moral arena in which the ethical choice is generally the one more likely to make you groan with pleasure."

Carlo Petrini

"A gastronome who is not also an environmentalist is an idiot. An environmentalist who is not also a gastronome is, well, sad."

Sharon Astyk

"I am, of course, firmly opposed to consumerism and corporatism in all its forms, and I believe that we are deeply confused about material needs and wants. Now let me explain how books and yarn are totally different than the material things that other people want ;-)…."

Raj Patel, at Slow Food Nation

"Biofuels, which is the preposterous policy that we should grow food not to eat it but to set it on fire."

